Did you ever wonder what the “destroying” process does when deleting a Hyper-V VM in 2008R2?
I wondered, and found a blog of Ben that explains the process;
Basically the snapshots get merged before deleting. It seems to me that this is not needed as i decided to _delete_ the VM. Be aware you actually need to delete the files associated with the VM: “delete” in the Hyper-v manager in hyper-v terms actually means “merge snapshots and remove from the hyper-V manager and delete the files yourself”. I’m more of a “Hyper-V is good enough and i don’t like vTax”, but on this “delete issue” i have to say vSphere does a better job.